Islamic Sacred Months: Quick Simple Information

What are the sacred months?

The sacred months are four: Dhul-Qi`dah, Dhul-Hijjah, Muharram and Rajab.

During the sacred months, the rewards of good deeds are doubled and punishment for wrongdoings is multiplied. Therefore, Muslims are encouraged to refrain from sins and increase the good deeds during these months.

However, this doesn’t mean that the rest of months are less important. Muslims believe they should seize each month, each day, even each hour to do good and please their creator.

Sacred months are considered sacred for two reasons: Allah has declared that fighting is forbidden in these months, unless initiated by the enemy; and transgression of the sacred limits during these months is worse than at other times.

Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) tells us:

“Time has come back to its original state, which it had when Allah created the heavens and the earth. The year is twelve months, of which four are sacred: three are in succession, namely, Dhul-Qi’dah, Dhul-Hijjah and Muharram, and (the fourth one) Rajab (of the tribe of) Mudar, which is between Jumada (Thani) and Sha’ban.” (Al-Bukhari & Muslim)


Muharram is the first month of the Hijri calendar and is one of the four sacred months.

Muharram is called so because it is a sacred (muharram) month and to confirm its sanctity. Allah Almighty says, “…so wrong not yourselves therein…” which means do not wrong yourselves in these sacred months, because sin in these months is worse than in other months.


Rajab is the seventh month of the Islamic calendar. It is the penultimate month before Ramadan, so it presents us with a chance to make our celebration of Ramadan even more special.

In Rajab, we remember the occasion when Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) was taken from the Ka’bah in Makkah to Al-Aqsa mosque in Al-Quds (Jerusalem) and from there was taken through the heavens close to the throne of Allah.

This event of Al Isra’ wal Mi’raaj (the Night Journey and Ascension) reminds us of the love Muslims have for Al-Aqsa, built just forty years after the Ka’bah, and how we should do our utmost to preserve it and the lands around it blessed by Allah.


Dhu’l-Qi’dah is the eleventh month in the Islamic calendar. And it’s the month that comes before the season of Hajj (Dhul-Hijjah)


Dhul-Hijjah is the twelfth and final month in the Islamic calendar in which the Hajj (pilgrimage) takes place as well as Eid Al-Adha.

Read also: The First of the Sacred Months – Time for Peace

First published: August 2017